Inspiration.

inspiration My blog has been silent for a few weeks now.  The reason is partially due to life but mainly because I have not felt inspired to write.  Not that there aren’t thousands of thoughts yet to share about leadership, teamwork and personal interactions, but nothing felt right to write (pun intended).  Amazingly enough, my lack of inspiration now became my topic!  Call it writer’s block or being uninspired, when ideas are not flowing, I feel it is almost impossible to force good content.  For me, when I write, it is like I am speaking the words in my head while I am typing.  I type as fast as my thoughts are flowing which makes writing fun and the words easy to find. When my head is empty, my fingers are not able to move. Personally, I think it is obvious even in the way I write between topics I am inspired to write about and others that I am trying to just get down on paper.

The difference between inspiration and discouragement comes down to motivation.  When I am inspired about a topic or a life event, I am motivated to work.  My mind and my body are energized towards greatness as ideas and effort flow forth in a way that feels exciting and fun instead of like a drudge.  When I am not encouraged or enthusiastic about my topics or about my life events, the weight of my ambivalence slows down my entire psyche.  I don’t WANT to think or to move! So let’s think about this when it comes to leadership because this is a huge deal.

Just like it is obvious to me in the results of my work when I want to write and when I am going through the motions, the outcome for groups is no different.  The harder task for leaders is to find the motivating factor for the team to drive them to greatness.  Unfortunately, we are all made different so this sounds a lot easier than it is.   Although, there is one core truth that I choose to believe, that people do strive for greatness.  Call it optimism, but when we are at work or charged with a task in life, I choose to think that individually we want to good a job.  It is a sign of our capabilities and our talents to demonstrate what we can accomplish.  In turn, when we have a chance to use our skills, we are energized. I think for leaders, identifying those particular talents and skills of each team member to contribute to the goal overall is the key to keeping people motivated and therefore inspired.

Lori Buresh

The Professional Development Team

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Gaede, Wayne on October 2, 2013 - 11:22 am

    I’m glad you are ‘back’. New job, excitement…..inspiration!

    Coincidence? I think not.

    Thanks!

    Wayne Gaede, CPCM, Fellow
    Sr. Contracts Administrator
    The Boeing Company
    505.508.8437

    This communication, including any attachments, may contain information that is proprietary or
    confidential to The Boeing Company, and is intended only for the addressee(s).

  2. #2 by meredithwyatt1990 on October 2, 2013 - 2:43 pm

    Reblogged this on Speak Through Your Heart and Your Mind Will Follow and commented:
    It’s the same for everybody

  3. #3 by Valerie on October 2, 2013 - 6:32 pm

    Tangential thought for you… What is the difference between determination and motivation? How does that apply to leadership?
    Here are their definitions:
    Motivation- A motivating force, stimulus, or influence; incentive; drive.
    Determination- The act of deciding definitely and firmly; firm or fixed intention to achieve a desired end.
    Obviously they are different, one is driven more by external factors, and the other by choices you have positive control over. Keeping people motivated is likely to be a challenge, because of other things going on in their life. Getting people determined to do their job well (using their skills and talents, like you said) will allow your team to bridge the days when the motivation is low.

    Personally, I find that motivation is cyclical – some days high, other days low. Relying on that to run my life makes for little progress. Being determined to see something happen means that on the days that the motivation is running low, I still get out there and work towards the goal. Sometimes getting out there and getting started is all it takes to remind me why I want this goal in the first place, and then restores the motivation. Other days, the motivation remains low, but progress towards the goal is still made.
    (For more thoughts along this line, I’ll share a link to a blog that I like. She explains it well, in terms of weight loss, although this concept applies to many other aspects of life too. http://www.runsforcookies.com/2012/01/difference-between-motivation-and.html )

Leave a Reply

