Pride.

Award CertificatePride can be a terrible detriment to leadership when applied personally.  What I mean by this statement is if pride is held within or leaders direct their pride toward themselves, then I submit they will struggle as leaders.  I find that leaders with a large sense of personal pride hold themselves higher than others and are not as willing to selflessly sacrifice for others. In this aspect, personal pride can be equated with arrogance.  It may manifest itself through unyielding ego, or an aura of supremacy. However, this is not the type of pride I want to focus on today – it is pride for others as a leader.

One of the greatest thrills for leaders is to see their team members and their teams succeed. Watching team members grow and be prosperous in their own right is just as or even more satisfying than earning awards or achievements ourselves. For example, my children and my husband worked hard, and all of them earned their next level belt in karate over the weekend.  Though I had nothing directly to do with their accomplishment, I still felt an overwhelming sense of pride for my family.  I was floating on air just as much as they were!  Why?  Again, I had nothing to do with their success directly.  The pride I felt came from watching them succeed.

The flip side is what they felt. I have been the recipient of awards, and that is a different feeling.  There is a sense of accomplishment and of pride, but it is different.  I think it is best to say that particular feeling of pride is tempered with a great deal of humility.  Maybe that is why the feeling of pride as a leader is so much stronger and more powerful – the humility is gone.  I can be as proud as possible and happy for others without having a conflicted heart.

Lori Buresh

CEO, The Professional Development Team

, , , , , , ,

  1. #1 by Gaede, Wayne on April 22, 2013 - 11:45 am

    Hi Lori!

    They all got the next higher belt in karate? That is terrific!!

    I was working at the rental house once again—I took off Thursday and Friday, and we finally got ‘finished’ yesterday evening. I put ‘finished’ in quotes, because the plumbers have at least 2 more days of work, and the electrician has to come back and fix a couple of items on the punch list.

    But the new walls are up and finished, and the kitchen is in.

    I was wiped out every day when I got home, and did not even think of calling or trying to Skype last night. Now I have some time to breathe, I’ll catch up. I am dying to talk with you and the kids! (And Mark, too!)

    BTW—excellent blog!

    Thanks!

    Wayne Gaede, CPCM, Fellow
    Sr. Contracts Administrator
    The Boeing Company
    505.508.8437

    This communication, including any attachments, may contain information that is proprietary or
    confidential to The Boeing Company, and is intended only for the addressee(s).

  2. #2 by diana brown on April 22, 2013 - 3:47 pm

    Lori – Thank you for the leadership observations. I would highly recommend the Robert Greenleaf book: Servant Leadership. Your position would be supported and you will find it to be an incredible ongoing resource. Finally there is much to gained in support of beginning at the start, knowing who we really are, and adding all to this base point discovery.

Leave a Reply

